View the latest updates from the American Board of Ophthalmology COVID-19 Information Center.


Executive Leadership

The American Board of Ophthalmology is led by Mayo Clinic oculoplastic surgeon George B. Bartley, MD, who serves as the organization's chief executive officer. Dr. Bartley achieved board certification in 1986 and actively participates in the Maintenance of Certification program.

Board of Directors

Members of the American Board of Ophthalmology's Board of Directors are leaders in ophthalmology who possess specific clinical or subspecialty expertise and reflect the diversity of the ophthalmic community. Up to 2 public directors represent the public interest. All physician directors are active in clinical practice; most have prior experience with ABO examinations and/or exam development. All physician directors participate in the Maintenance of Certification program. Board Directors are chosen for a 4-year term which may be renewed for an additional 4 years.

Examiners and Exam Development Volunteers

To develop content and administer examinations, the ABO relies on subject matter expert volunteers from within the profession of ophthalmology who give of their time and expertise to serve as Examiners, item writers, and content development panelists.


In 2018, the ABO became the first medical specialty board in the nation to transition its day-to-day staffing operations from a physical office in the Philadelphia region to a virtual workforce model with 11 full-time staff members. The move allows the ABO to better meet the needs of diplomates and the public while reducing overhead.